Bounded by the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Brazil has a coastline of 7491 kilometers. It is bordered to the north by Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana; northwest by Colombia; west by Bolivia and Peru; southwest by Argentina and Paraguay and to the south by Uruguay. Several archipelagos form part of Brazilian territory, such as Fernando de Noronha, Atol das Rocas, Aquipélago de São Pedro e São Paulo  and Trindade e Martim Vaz. The country borders all other South American countries except Ecuador and Chile.

Total Area - 8,514,877 km ²

Comparison - Fifth largest in the world

Earth - 8,459,417 km ²

Water - 55.460 km ²

Perimeter - 16.885 km

Frontier - Argentina 1.261 km, 3.423 km Bolivia, Colombia 1.644 km, French Guiana 730 km, Guyana 1.606 km, 1.365 km Paraguay, Peru 2.995 km,? Suriname 593 km, Uruguay 1.068 km, 2.200 km Venezuela.


Brazil is the largest country in South America and the fifth largest in the world by land area (equivalent to 47% of the South American territory) and population, with over 203 million inhabitants.
It is the only Portuguese-speaking country in the Americas and the largest lusophone country in the world, besides being one of the nations most multicultural and ethnically diverse in the world, a result of strong immigration from many countries.

Population - 203,429,773 (July 2011 approximately

Languages - Portuguese (official and most widely spoken)

Note: among the less common language there are Spanish (border areas and schools), German, Italian, Japanese, English and a large number of Indian dialects


Brazil is the largest economy in Latin America (and the second American, behind only the United States), the sixth largest economy at market rates of exchange and the seventh largest in purchasing power parity (PPP), according to the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank.

Time Zone

Exchange Rate

Talk to the Embassies:

Useful Information